January 14, 2013

2012 All District: 16-3A

Kilgore middle linebacker A.J. Davis, Henderson's Patrick Brown and Gilmer defensive tackle Xavier Fluellen came away with the top honors in the balloting for 16-3A all-district.

Gilmer, Kilgore and Henderson dominated the voting of district coaches, like they did district opponents with a combined 15-3 won-loss record, to earn four of the five individual superlative honors.

Davis was named Most Valuable Player, Brown was selected the Offensive MVP and Fluellen the Defensive MVP. Newcomer of the Year honorees were Gilmer sophomore running back Kris Boyd (Offense) and Gladewater defensive tackle Daylon Mack (Defense).

Davis received the District of Doom's top award following a senior season in which he made 154 tackles, 12 for loss, two sacks, one interception and two forced fumbles as the anchor of a Kilgore defense that limited 13 opponents to 11.1 points per game for the season as the Bulldogs went 11-2, reaching the Division I state semifinals.

Brown, nicknamed "Monsta", did it all scoring, offensively and on special teams. He adjusted seamlessly to a move to quarterback at mid-season, accounting for 2,329 yards of total offense and scoring 27 touchdowns four ways (rushing, passing, receiving and punt returns) igniting
Henderson to a 9-5 finish and a berth in the Division II, Region II finals against Gilmer.

Fluellen was a mainstay of a Buckeye defense which helped Gilmer reach the Division II state championship game for the fourth time since 2004.

The senior was credited with 113 tackles, four sacks, five forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries during the Buckeyes' 14-2 season.

As newcomers in the highly competitive district, Boyd led Gilmer in rushing with a team-high 1,276 yards and 19 touchdowns, while Mack had a sterling season of his own for Gladewater, finishing with 62 tackles, 16 for loss, six sacks, six forced fumbles, a blocked kick and a blocked punt, as well as scoring a defensive touchdown. Mack already holds offers from Texas and TCU in the Big 12 and Texas A&M in the Southeast

District coaches conducted the voting and 16-3A champion Gilmer received the Coaching Staff of the Year award for the season.

16-3A All-District Football Team

  • Overall MVP - A.J. Davis, LB, Sr., Kilgore
  • Offensive MVP - Patrick Brown, ATH/QB, Sr., Henderson
  • Defensive MVP - Xavier Fluellen, DT, Sr., Gilmer
  • Offensive Newcomer of the Year - Kris Boyd, RB, Soph., Gilmer
  • Defensive Newcomer of the Year - Daylon Mack, DT, Soph., Gladewater
  • Coaching Staff of the Year - Gilmer

    First Team
    QB - Colton Mebane, Sr., Bullard
    RB - Diamante Wright, Sr., Henderson
    RB - Austin Jordon, Sr., Kilgore
    FB/H-back - Jordan Dickeson, Jr., Henderson
    FB/H-back - Jaidon Parrish, Jr., Gilmer
    WR - Chase Tate, Soph., Gilmer
    WR - Pat Finch, Sr., Gilmer
    WR - Jamie Anthony, Sr., Henderson
    WR - Aaron Foy, Jr., Kilgore
    WR - Daquavian Brewster, Sr., Kilgore
    WR - Haden Bryant, Sr., Bullard
    TE - Zack Holladay, Sr. Bullard
    TE - Trae Roquemore, Sr., Henderson
    TE - Jarod Wood, Soph., Kilgore
    OL - Nick Siler, Sr., Henderson
    OL - Clay Wiley, Jr., Kilgore
    OL - Morgan Knight, Jr., Longview Spring Hill
    OL - Trevor Rumbelow, Sr., Bullard
    OL - Brady English, Sr., Gilmer
    OL - Dylan Adkinson, Jr., Gilmer
    OL - Dillon Sampson, Sr., Gilmer
    K - Hector Peralez, Sr., Kilgore
    P - Weston Gray, Sr., Bullard
    P - Travis Dennis, Sr., Gladewater
    UTL - Houston Alexander, Sr., Bullard
    UTL - Tanner Barr, Jr., Gilmer
    UTL - Ben Hollas, Sr., Longview Spring Hill
    UTL - Tre Hollins, Jr., Henderson
    UTL - J'Marcus McCowin, Sr., Tyler Chapel Hill
    UTL - Derrick Daniels, Sr., Gladewater
    UTL - JuJu Brown, Jr., Kilgore

    DL - Bo Brady, Sr., Henderson
    DL - Ladarrin Anthony, Jr., Kilgore
    DL - Daquellan Scott, Jr., Kilgore
    DL - Ladarian Anthony, Sr., Gladewater
    DL - Demarco Boyd, Fr., Gilmer
    DL - C.J. Williams, Sr., Gilmer
    DL - Morgan Knight, Jr., Longview Spring Hill
    OLB - Josh Walker, Jr., Gilmer
    OLB - Jake Brantley, Jr., Kilgore
    ILB - Jamal Kind, Sr., Henderson
    ILB - Zack Holladay, Sr., Bullard
    DB - Joseph Clark, Jr., Tyler Chapel Hill
    DB - Haden Bryant, Sr., Bullard
    DB - Benny Colbert, Jr., Kilgore
    DB - Tre Hollins, Jr., Henderson
    DB - DeVondrick Dixon, Jr., Gilmer
    DB - Trey Washington, Sr., Gilmer
    KR - Benny Colbert, Jr., Kilgore
    PR - Dylan Bowman, Sr., Gilmer
    Special teams - Corbin Howard, Sr., Bullard
    Special teams - Pablin Olivares, Jr., Gilmer
    Special teams - Chris Flournoy, Sr., Longview Spring Hill
    Special teams - Kenny McCown, Sr. Henderson
    Special teams - Wesley Thompson, Jr., Tyler Chapel Hill
    Special teams - Michael Finnegan, Sr., Gladewater
    Special teams - Chad Bornes, Jr., Kilgore

    Second Team
    QB - Cooper Coldiron, Sr., Kilgore
    RB - Brentavian Henderson, Soph., Bullard
    RB - Jamel Jackson, Soph., Gilmer
    RB - Joseph Clark, Jr., Tyler Chapel Hill
    WR - Corey Starks, Sr., Tyler Chapel Hill
    WR - Slade Morris, Sr., Gilmer
    WR - DeVondrick Dixon, Jr., Gilmer
    WR - Nick Orange, Soph., Kilgore
    WR - Benny Colbert, Jr., Kilgore
    WR - Jess Wood, Sr., Bullard
    OL - Hunter Perry, Sr., Henderson,
    OL - Tyler Jones, Sr., Kilgore
    OL - Nolan Grush, Jr., Kilgore
    OL - Blake Guthrie, Soph., Kilgore
    OL - Britt Thomas, Sr., Bullard
    OL - Brandon Upshaw, Sr., Tyler Chapel Hill
    OL - Aaron Johnson, Jr., Bullard
    K - William Mann, Sr., Henderson
    K - Weston Gray, Sr., Bullard

    DL - Brandon Armstrong, Jr., Henderson
    DL - Jake Staneart, Jr., Henderson
    DL - Dakota Fluellen, Sr., Gilmer
    DL - Trevor Rumbelow, Sr., Bullard
    DL - Billy Tomlin, Sr., Bullard
    DL - Cornelius Bell, Sr., Kilgore
    DL - Josh Daniels, Sr., Kilgore
    OLB - Arquez Walton, Sr., Henderson
    OLB - Kevrin Justice, Soph., Kilgore
    ILB - Kenny McCown, Sr., Henderson
    ILB - Kris Haynes, Soph., Kilgore
    ILB - J.P. Hendrix, Sr., Bullard
    DB - Holden Bryant, Sr., Bullard
    DB - Hector Peralez, Sr., Kilgore
    DB - Dee Dee Mumphrey, Jr., Chapel Hill
    DB - J'Korrie Centers, Sr., Henderson
    DB - Dylan Bowman, Sr., Gilmer
    DB - Jamie Anthony, Sr., Henderson
    DB - Joseph Shepherd, Jr., Kilgore
    KR - Brentavian Henderson, Soph., Bullard


    Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
    Site-specific editorial/photos Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
    About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

    Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.